Take Me Out To The Ball Game

Joe Marchant Stadium, Spring training home of the Detroit Tigers

Joe Marchant Stadium, Spring training home of the Detroit Tigers

Take me out to the ball game,

Take me out with the crowd;

Just buy me some peanuts and Cracker Jack,

I don’t care if I never get back.

Let me root, root, root for the home team,

If they don’t win, it’s a shame.

For it’s one, two, three strikes, you’re out,

At the old ball game.

My cousin Karla and her husband Larry normally celebrate her birthday by coming down to Florida to visit her father and go to a Detroit Tiger Spring training game. Knowing that we were in Florida and being avid Tiger fans too, she asked if we’d like to join them. Would we ever!, came the reply. Karla went online, purchased some great seats and then……less than two weeks before her flight down, she needed to have emergency surgery. Once recuperated enough to go home, her doctor would not give permission for her to travel. We were all disappointed.

A few days later Karla called. Do we know anyone who would like her and Larry’s tickets? I immediately thought of our friends Tom and Jean Moore. They are Michigan Snowbirds and Detroit Tiger fans too. They too jumped at the chance to go.

IMG_7542

Which leads me to today, Sunday. It’s a two hour drive from North Fort Myers to Lakeland and the ball game started at 1:pm, so, wanting to be on time, meet up with my uncle Lloyd and have time to check out the ballpark, we left at 10:am. The ride north was uneventful and passed quickly. After we had parked, I called my uncle’s cell phone to let him know we’d arrived and find out where to meet.

Tom & Jean Moore & Don

Tom & Jean Moore & Don

My uncle Lloyd with Don & I

My uncle Lloyd with Don & I

Uncle Lloyd was waiting for us at the front gate. We introduced our friends and all headed inside to our seats. Greats seats too. Karla had done a nice job on seat selection. We were the fifth row back along the first base line, just right of the Tiger dugout. Joe Marchant Stadium is a small intimate ballpark, I don’t think there’s a bad seat in the house.

IMG_2083

Today’s game was against the Houston Astros. Neither team played many of their seasoned vets and as much as we would have liked to see all our favorite boys on the field, it was nice to get a look at the kids coming up. But it also made for a very long ballgame, almost four hours. And sadly to say, our team lost 9-14. Alas.

IMG_7531

Tomorrow will be another long day for us. We have laundry and packing to do, and Tucker must be dropped off at the kennel. Our flight leaves at 7:am Tuesday morning. As a rule, we need to be at the airport two hours ahead of time. 5:am comes early and knowing us, we’ll both be to excited to sleep. Dominican Republic, here we come!

Here’s lookin’ at you kid……

Categories: Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Post navigation

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

