Good News. Bad News. And Surprise, Surprise!

IMG_4084

Good news. It’s day 12 and I’m finally starting to feel better. Bad news. Don is now feeling poorly. Indiana sure has a funny way of welcoming us back home.

I innocently mentioned in a phone conversation with our daughter Leslie that I would be getting in touch with several friends in the area to make plans with while in town. Apparently my comments were of such grave concern to our three daughters, that I was let in on the plans they’d made but they made me swear not to tell Don. First, my father and stepmom were driving down from Michigan with their new camper to join us at Jellystone Park and second, daughter Leslie and granddaughter Ava, also from Michigan, were coming down too. A family reunion!

Bad news. Part way down, my parents had to turn around and head back home. Dad’s health issues caused them to cancel. We were sorely disappointed but understood it was for the best.

Wednesday afternoon and Don is just waking up from a nap. Knock, knock, knock. I answer the door and it’s our oldest, Kristi wanting to know if dad could give her a hand, something to do with her car. (Of course, I’m in on this little charade.) I head out the door ahead of Don and catch a glimpse of Leslie and Ava hiding behind the trailer. Don steps out of the rig and SURPRISE! At first he’s speechless. (Those of you that know Don well won’t believe that, but he was.) It takes him a moment to recover. The girls, grandchildren and I are all laughing and everyone is hugging. Don asks me if I knew and I’m forced to admit that I was in cahoots with our girls. Don is greatly pleased.

The past few days has been full of activities. Dinners out. Family visits. Campfires and S’mores. Pools and waterparks. An outing to Nashville…. Indiana that is.

IMG_4124                IMG_4126

IMG_4136

FROM LESLIE’S & AVA’S EXPRESSIONS, CAN YOU TELL THE WATER WAS COLD?

IMG_4137

Kristi                Don, Gabby & Brad

 

 

Leslie, Ava & Bobbi-Leigh

Leslie, Ava & Bobbi-Leigh

IMG_4073                IMG_4071-001

IMG_1530                IMG_4078

NASHVILLE (BROWN COUNTY), INDIANA, IS A POPULAR TOURIST AREA. AN ARTIST COLONY WITH INTERESTING SHOPS AND LOVELY GARDENS.

IMG_4092                IMG_4104

IMG_4121                IMG_4109

IMG_4108

 

After having spent most of the day here, all I bought was this. I thought it was appropriate for our Suite Pea.

After having spent most of the day here, all I bought was this. I thought it was appropriate for our Suite Pea.

I’m afraid I’ve been lax at getting in touch with our friends and at keeping up with our blog. I do hope everyone will bare with us as we have not seen most of our family since last Thanksgiving and all of us are making up for lost time. I think our daughters have missed us.

Here’s lookin’ at you kid…………………..

IMG_4143 IMG_4087 IMG_4088 IMG_4118

Categories: Uncategorized | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “Good News. Bad News. And Surprise, Surprise!

  1. No apologies needed…enjoy your family! Wonderful smiles and happy faces. And beautiful flowers……

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

