A BEAR-y Exciting Start to Our Day

But first let me backtrack a little bit.

Don & I were first awaken at 12:30 this morning from the sharp beeping alarm of our carbon monoxide/voltage meter detector. We flew out of bed to shut off the alarm & to find out what caused it to go off in the first place. After an hour or so of trial & error, Don determined it was due to me plugging the electric heater into a battery operated outlet after which he’d just filled the batteries with distilled water earlier in the day & of course the inverter/converter was recharging the batteries. He was having difficulty resetting the detector so he went outside to the unit & manually shut it off until the morning when he’d be more awake to deal with it.

Don’s an early riser from years of getting up around 4 AM to get ready for work. This morning it was 5:05. He headed outside to flip on the inverter/converter. As he rounded the Suite Pea he realized he wasn’t alone. Not 10′ away from him was a black bear. Don hightailed it back into the rig just as quickly & quietly as he could so as not to attract attention. He hit the door & yelled, “Gayle! Quick! A bear!”  My feet hit the floor running. I headed to the front of the rig & looked out the picture window. There he was, up on my parents deck. He had knocked over & opened the aluminum trash can that my dad keeps his birdseed in. Then he stood & reached for my ma’s hummingbird feeder tearing it free from its fishing line, held it up & drank in all the sweet nectar it held. Throwing it on the ground, he ambled back down the steps to our bird feeding station. We watched from the window as he neared, he stood up & with both paws on either side of our big feeder he pulled it to himself taking it completely off the pole it had been mounted on. He then clasped the suet container on one side & ripped it free of the feeder. We watched as he devoured all of the suet & sat licking his paws. I tried several times to take a photo from inside the rv without using a flash as I didn’t want to scare him off but I had no success as it was just barely turning light outside & we were in thick woods.

IMG_8054     IMG_8053

IMG_8061     IMG_8052

IMG_8055

Now those of you who know Don intimately, also know that he doesn’t always make wise decisions. He turns to me & asks, “Do you think it would be stupid of me to go out there & see if I can get a couple of shots?” I looked at him thinking, This from the guy who threw a lit match into the gas tank of an old junker. This from the guy who when everyone else was taking cover during the tornado, he grabbed his video camera, hopped into the van & went tornado chasing.  WELL DUH! I’ve been married to Don long enough to know it really doesn’t matter what I think when he sets his mind to doing something stupid. He grabbed the camera & out the door he went. (And people wonder why I make sure he’s so well insured.)

Don got off two hastily taken photos. Here’s the proof. The second shot was taken just before he stood & growled directly at Don.

IMG_8049     IMG_8050

The bear did retreat into the woods at the rear of the property, however he did return later, not once but twice. I will also mention that the security lights that my folks have mounted on their decks did turn on when the bear climbed the steps. They did not faze him in the least. He diligently went about his business. I anticipate he will return again tonight for a visit since he’d found a source of food here. We will be watching.

While at the Wakarusa Dime Store, I picked up some salt water taffy & some old time black licorice. My fathers favorites.

While at the Wakarusa Dime Store, I picked up some salt water taffy & some old time black licorice. My fathers favorites.

At the Amish market I spotted some Black Strap sorghum. Dad has loved this with pancakes since childhood.

At the Amish market I spotted some Black Strap sorghum. Dad has loved this with pancakes since childhood.

On another note, today is my fathers 78th birthday. That & Fathers Day is the reason we timed our stay up here when we did. It has been many years since I was last able to celebrate these occasions with him. I knew he’d be quite pleased to have us. HAPPY BIRTHDAY DADDY! I LOVE YOU VERY MUCH.

Here's to many more birthdays

Here’s to many more birthdays

Here’s lookin’ at you kid………………………………

Categories: Uncategorized | 1 Comment

Post navigation

One thought on “A BEAR-y Exciting Start to Our Day

  1. That was a rude awakening….it’s scary to have an alarm go off in the middle of the night. Hope you got that fixed! And then a bear….Oh my!

    What a nice time with your dad…a birthday and Father’s Day!

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

